Game of Thrones

It is a pretty common thing to find certain types of popular culture we like and to stick with that. Sometimes broadening the horizon and finding something new is a challenge especially if there is a preconceived notion about certain types of movies, TV shows, music, and other forms of popular culture. I try to be open about movies and music but seem to stick to similar types of television shows. I like watching television shows that I am familiar with them and am invested in each season, so I don’t often step outside of my comfort zone.

For this assignment, I chose to watch an episode of Game of Thrones. It is a very popular series but it is a fantasy and serial drama. I do watch some serial dramas, One Tree Hill being one of my favorite ones. However, I am not very into medieval fantasy, sci-fi types of television shows. The network for this show is HBO. I’ve watched some HBO movies, but haven’t really gotten into many of the shows, so I counted it as a network that I don’t regularly watch for television shows.

As I was watching, I was surprised that I was pretty intrigued by it in the beginning. The visual effects, costumes, and makeup are pretty intense and that makes the show all the more interesting. The characters live in a made up continent called Westeros. It is home to seven kingdoms. They show what is going on each kingdom. They start out with the king of all of the seven kingdoms and his wife going to visit his friend to offer him a job as the “Hand of the King” basically the king’s assistant. In another kingdom, one of the prince’s, who is exiled from his throne, is trying to regain his title. In attempt to do this, he wants to fend off his sister into an arranged marriage. Back in the original kingdom, one of the younger boy’s finds discovers the Queen and his twin brother in a relationship which is incest. I found the show to be pretty sexual and I did not expect that all based on what I had thought of the show. The incest was pretty uncomfortable to watch especially since a little boy saw it.

I chose this image to represent to show because the main theme I received from watching the first episode was power. It is all about the hierarchy and how someone is more powerful than someone else. This picture reminds me a lot about what I depicted Lord of the Rings to be and that is a movie I had no interest in. That is how I also felt about Game of Thrones.

Overall, I liked the visual effects but I didn’t really like the show that much. I enjoy shows like Grey’s Anatomy, Shameless, and Law & Order SVU which are more real-life based. Although, all of the characters that have died and “come back to life” on Grey’s Anatomy are pretty unrealistic, but that’s another story. I got a feel of what this show was about, but I don’t think I will continue watching it. I expected it to be be more of a mix between Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings. It was definitely more on the Lord of the Rings side.

 

Office, H. B. (2016). HBO: Game of thrones: S 1 EP 01 winter is coming. Retrieved September 14, 2016, from HBO

Leave a Reply

