Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo

I didn’t know what a cultural rut was until I listened to this podcast. I had no idea it was a problem that people try to correct themselves. I don’t think a cultural rut is necessarily a bad thing, it just means that a person likes to stick to what they like. However, if one is in a cultural rut and wants to break out of it that wouldn’t be a bad thing either. I think trying new things is healthy. So I guess breaking out of a cultural rut would be healthy and could help find a new interest. I have never been in a cultural rut because I like to watch a variety of things. Some I keep up with and some I don’t. Like one of the women in the podcast said, it’s okay to not like something.

I watched an Italian movie called “Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo”, which translates to Three Steps Over Heaven. I found it while looking for a movie online. I chose this movie because I don’t watch foreign language movies, but I have a basic understanding of Italian.

tre-metri-sopra-il-cielo

This movie was a rollercoaster of emotion. It’s a love story about two teenagers that come from different backgrounds. It’s similar to Grease, except without the happy ending. I feel that this movie is directed towards young adults, specifically females. I really enjoyed this movie and became very invested in it almost instantly. I was rooting for the young couple to overcome the obstacles and stay together forever, but that’s not what happens. Instead, the couple breaks up, which made me very mad and upset. After doing some research, I found out that most Italian movies don’t have a happy ending. However, I still enjoyed the movie and I would definitely watch something like this again.

I think this movie goes against one of the many definitions of ideology — masking or distortion of reality.  Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo, like most Italian movies, is a good example of what happens in reality. We don’t always get what we want and have the fairy tale ending. This movie, and other Italian movies, follows the ideological form that happy endings don’t always exist.

The main story in Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo is the two teens falling in love. They have a Romeo and Juliet romance that most people, women in particular, crave. As we watch this movie, our desires for this type of relationship are fulfilled. We live vicariously through the main characters, Babi and Step. According to the Adorno reading, this serves as a distraction to the real world.

References:

Adorno, T., & Horkheimer, M. (1944). The Culture Industry: Enlightenment as Mass  Deception. In Dialect of Enlightenment (pp. 94-136).
Lucini, L. (Director), & Moccia, F. (Writer). (2004). Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo: 3msc
 [Motion picture]. Roma: Warner home video.

 

Leave a Reply

